Municipalities & Religious Groups

170 municipalities as important partners

In Switzerland, public functions are shared by the federal government, cantons and municipalities. Admittedly, for a layman, it is not always easy to understand who is responsible for what. Surveys have shown that the municipalities in the Canton of Zurich enjoy a relatively high degree of autonomy compared with other cantons.

The Department of Justice and Home Affairs is responsible for the contact to the municipalities in the Canton of Zurich. The Office of Municipalities assigned to it is also responsible for the monitoring of municipalities, and in addition, it organises trainings for members of the authorities and audit services. It also takes care of the granting of the cantonal citizenship and is in charge of the civil status system.

One of the most important topics in this area is financial equalisation between the Canton and the municipalities without which many municipalities would not be able to survive.

State and Religion

The Canton of Zurich officially recognises the Evangelical Reformed, the Roman Catholic and the Swiss Old-Catholic Churches, in addition to the Israelitische Cultusgemeinde(Jewish Community) and the Jewish Liberal Community. There is also contact to Muslim Associations and other religions, given that the exchange with religious organisations also falls within the scope of our Department.

Gemeinden & Religionsgemeinschaften

170 Gemeinden als wichtige Partner

In der Schweiz sind die öffentlichen Aufgaben verteilt auf Bund, Kantone und Gemeinden. Wer für welchen Bereich die Verantwortung trägt, ist für Laien nicht immer auf Anhieb ersichtlich. Untersuchungen haben gezeigt, dass die Gemeinden im Kanton Zürich im Vergleich zu anderen Kantonen eine relativ hohe Autonomie geniessen.

Für den Kontakt zu den Gemeinden ist im Kanton Zürich die Direktion der Justiz und des Innern zuständig. Das ihr zugeordnete Gemeindeamt hat auch die Aufsicht über die Gemeinden, zudem organisiert es Schulungen für Behördenmitglieder und bietet Revisionsdienste an. Dazu kommen die Erteilung des kantonalen Bürgerrechts und das Zivilstandswesen.

Eines der wichtigsten Themen dieses Bereichs ist der Finanzausgleich zwischen Kanton und Gemeinde, ohne den viele Gemeinden nicht überlebensfähig wären.

Staat und Religion

Im Kanton Zürich sind die evangelisch-reformierte, die römisch-katholische und die christkatholische Kirche sowie die Israelitische Cultusgemeinde und die jüdisch-liberale Gemeinde staatlich anerkannt. Auch Kontakte zu islamischen Vereinen und anderen Religionen werden gepflegt, da der Austausch mit den Religionsgemeinschaften auch in den Aufgabenbereich der Direktion der Justiz und des Innern fällt.